Global PermaYouth Festival – October

Event description

Do you love permaculture and want to make a difference? Join this new series of free online events made especially for youth, by youth!

About this Event

interviews • discussions • [pr]activism • gardens • design • music • poetry • art • film

Are you 11-18 years old and into permaculture, or someone who directly works with young people this age? Then join us in this new series of free online Global Permayouth Festival events.

Each month we bring you inspiring interviews that spark great discussion, share original music and art of various forms, take tours of youth gardens around the world, and screen a short permaculture film.

OCTOBER GLOBAL PERMAYOUTH FESTIVAL

Special Guest Matt Powers and his teen son, James

Our special guests for this month are American permaculture teacher, Matt Powers and his son James. Matt has just released a new book all about soil, so we are going to dive head first into the world beneath our feet. James has grown up with permaculture as the basis for his homeschooling – and life! The are both talented musician and will share some music with us too.

PREVIOUS EVENTS

The September Global Permayouth Festival hosted:

  • David Holmgren (co-originator of permaculture)
  • Brenna Quinlan (permaculture artist/activist)
  • Charlie McGee (permaculture musician/educator)
  • AND a surprise drop-in from Costa Georgiadis from ABC Gardening Australia who joined us live for an hour! What a blast.

Young people registered from 30 countries from 6 continents and included youth from refugee villages in Uganda and Kenya.

Check out the notes from re-cap the last session here -> https://miro.com/app/board/o9J_kkGj-d4=/.

In August we launched these events with wonderful guests:

  • Rosemary Morrow – Australian Permaculture author, teacher, activist
  • Sierra Robinson -18yo TEDx speaker, Permaculture Teacher, Earth Guardian from Canada.

We can’t wait to meet YOU at the October’s session!!

W H E N

Friday October 23rd 4-5:30pm PDT

We’ve listed a few times below that match different timezones.

  • Hawaii: Friday 23rd 1-2:30 pm
  • West Coast USA: Friday 23rd 4-5:30 pm
  • East Coast USA: Friday 23rd 7-8:30 pm
  • ….and across the dateline ….
  • QLD Australia (AEST): Saturday 24th 9-10:30 am
  • NSW/VIC/ACT Australia (AEDT): Saturday 24th 10-11:30 am
  • New Zealand: Saturday 24th 12-1:30pm
  • Philippines: Saturday 24th 7-8:30am

Click here to check the event time in your local timezone. -> http://ow.ly/p6dS50BQXOh

If you can’t make it at this time but don’t want to miss it, still register so we can email you the recording.

Please note: This event is perfect for people from Australia and the Americas. The November event, featuring the amazing youth permaculture youtuber and author Huw Richards from Wales, will be suitable for Australia, UK, Europe, Africa attendees.

W H E R E

This event is online – register for a ticket and we will send you the Zoom link!

O C T O B E R P R O G R A M

  • Permaculture panel & discussion hosted by Maia Raymond, Permayouth co-founder & Permayouth mentor Morag Gamble
  • Special guests Matt Powers and James Powers
  • Permaculture principle :Observe and Interact.
  • Permaculture song
  • Garden tour by one of the Permayouth in the Americas. (Get in touch with us if you would like to show off your beautiful garden!)
  • Slam poem by Eve, Permayouth Australia
  • Short permaculture film from the Permayouth Rwamwanja Refugee Settlement, Uganda
  • and more

Date

Oct 23 2020
Expired!

Time

4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

More Info

Read More
REGISTER
No Comments

Post A Comment